GO TO SOURCE
NEW YORK, NEW YORK, September 1, 2001: Following a series of lawsuits, McDonald's Corporation has announced it is giving more information about ingredients used in the items on its menu. The fast food giant is using www.mcdonalds.com to mention whether a "natural flavor comes from a dairy, vegetable or meat source." Fliers containing the ingredient information will be available at the company's 13,000 US outlets. McDonald's had so far followed state and federal guidelines for labeling, a method that doesn't specifically describe a "natural flavor." In spring vegetarians, many of them Hindus, filed lawsuits accusing McDonald's of using beef flavoring in fries despite pledges that it would use only vegetable oil. Company spokesman Mike Gordon declined to comment on the lawsuits, but said the questions from the clients "heightened the company's awareness."